5 elements for Ayurvedic medicine

Did you know that for Ayurvedic medicine the whole universe is made up of energy? Yes it’s true. Since this energy exists through five different states of density and will give rise to the five elements, check out what they are:

·         Ether

Corresponds to space and allows the existence of everything, enabling communication between one part and another of the human body, and can be represented for example by:

– Abdominal spaces.

– Intracellular spaces.

·         Air

It is gaseous and has air qualities, being light, limpid, dry and dispersing, being responsible for all movement and change, being present in the lungs and abdomen as well as in any other movement in the human body.

·         Fire

It has the quality of light and heat, being dry and without upward movement. It is responsible for the perception as well as for all the transformations in the body. It is involved with temperature, body color, glow in the face and hair as well as light in the eyes.

·         Water

It is considered as a type of liquidity or fluid movement, keeping everything harmonious and united, does not have a form of its own. In all body fluids is present, as for example in blood, urine, feces, saliva and mucus.

·         Earth

It is matter, solidity and stability, being heavy and hard, generating form and substance for the body, being part of the physical structure of the body, being present in the organs, muscles, feet and tendons.


Do you know what Doshas are and what are their characteristics?

The dosha is considered as the characterization of the biological profile of each individual, according to Ayurveda.

There are three doshas that are responsible for coordinating mobile energy also known as vital energy, each of which has several characteristics.

The existing doshas are:

  • Vata
  • Pitta
  • Kapha

Vata: It is a combination of the elements ether and air, the Sanskrit word means to blow, to direct or to move, therefore vata is considered as the principle of movement, being considered as the life force, resulting from breathing.

Pitta: It is a combination between the elements fire and water, the Sanskrit word means transformation, heating or cooking. It is considered as the beginning of transformation and heat, being related to all the chemical and metabolic changes in the human body creating both energy and heat.

Kapha: It is a combination of earth and water elements, the Sanskrit word means one that holds things together, being considered as the principle of potential energy, growth and protection.It is responsible for most of the structure of the human body such as muscles, bones, tissues, cells and body fluids, also acting in the body’s nutrition.